WhatsApp Status Revamp Goes Live Now Available to All Userst: Tips to use it without blowing up your world

WhatsApp Status Revamp Goes Live Now Available to All Userst: Tips to use it without blowing up your world

WhatsApp recently started rolling out its revamped Status feature to users in Europe, and the feature is now available for all Android, iPhone, and Windows users across the globe. WhatsApp users in India have also received the update.

Starting today, iPhone, Android and Windows users can send photos, videos and GIFs through Status to share special moments throughout their day with friends and family," a WhatsApp spokesperson said.





How to use WhatsApp Status







You can also reply to someone’s Status update. There is a reply button, so you can comment on any photo, video, or GIF. Once you tap reply, your message will be sent in a WhatsApp chat with a thumbnail of the Status update. It’s not clear if that message will also be deleted after 24 hours.
Below your own Status, you’ll see little round heads of your contacts with a blue circle around them. This blue circle  indicates they too have a ‘Status’ you can check out. You can keep tapping on these status updates to move from one contact to another.



But be cautious...Status privacy



Apart from this, you can also control you ‘privacy setting’, which means that you can control who can or cannot view your status updates. There is a menu on the top right, which says ‘Status Privacy’ where you can select options from ‘my contacts except’ to ‘only share with’.

Much like the Last Seen option, you can tweak who can see your new WhatsApp Status, the three options are My contacts, My contacts except, and Only share with. By default, WhatsApp Status updates created by you are visible to all contacts. Users who change their status with an image or video, will be also shown the view count on the app. Tap the eye icon at the bottom of any Status update and you can view a list of contacts who saw the update. The feature, however, will need you to enable Read Receipts. When Read Receipts is disabled, WhatsApp notes, "Can't see views because you disabled Read Receipts in Settings > Account > Privacy."
The rollout also sees the addition of the Camera tab on the left, symbolised with a camera symbol. It's here that users can easily shoot photos or record videos to use as Status updates, or, share regularly with their contacts.







TAG